The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:28 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:04 pm 

Hello everybody!

I will start to apologize for my english writing, i try my best, but it's not perfect.

having said that, i'll introduce myself properly.

I'm Martine, i live in Utrecht, Holland. I'm 24 years old and i've been riding horses since i was 10 years old.
At this moment i'm finishing (or at least trying to) my master Ethology and welfare. This means i have a lot to do with the welfare of all sorts of animals. through my study i came in cntact with 'Natural horsemanship' and all the trainingsmetods linked to it. Friends of mine are much futher in this method of training (one of them is Mies ;)) and i am now trying to learn as much and as fast as possible.

I don't own a horse, but i help care for one. I'll call him S. S is a 16year old ex-male (i 'don't know what you call that in english ;)) and he has aways been riden in the way most people consider the right way. His new owner is more into NH an AND, therefore S needs to learn a lot. Because S, his owner and I are relatively new to NH and AND, we can use all the help we can get.

S does not know how to play very well and i do not know exactly how to get him to play. so all tips and tricks are very welcome. from there on we'll see what comes next. frist things first.

One other problem is that S in now walking on the living part of his hooves, so we can only do excersises on soft underground. his hooves wear down very easily and i'm wondering if there are tricks to make his hooves stronger or we should cut his hooves in a different way.

I don't know what else i should write, but if you have further questions about me or S, don't hesitate to ask them :D

Last edited by pientje on Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Post subject: Re: Hi from Holland!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:17 pm 
Site Admin

Welcome, Martine! :)