The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:59 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 10:06 pm 

Marion asks us nowadays to work some more on collection by training on the takt in his hind legs by asking him a piaffe like movement, I started training this by sitting down into collection in my body and making a 2 takt movement in my legs+ having the hand closest to him upwards (to get more collection) and moving in the same takt up and down, I am at his hind end at the moment...
I do the same with my hand down pointing at his chest for a passage (which works great)

but now I get a lot of terre a terre instead of piaffe and then in a bend away from me... I believe it has to do with my hand position because on a circle I use this high hand for asking his hind end in (travers wise) but I am at this moment walking backwards keeping his shoulder out with my shoulder...
So I stand next to him facing the same way when I try the piaffe

any ideas on how to have a difference in aids that is clearer???
should I stand looking at his hind end for piaffe because it is not a forward movement? and have that as a difference with the terre a terre??

Marion, who just trains with a bridle could not help me, she just gives me exercises and sees what I do with it , which is fun... but I love to share ideas and figure this out together

I will see what the difference is if I try the exercise facing him, I just feel it will give him a larger amount of pressure because I will have my bellybutton towards him...

so I look forward to any advice and ideas...

big hugs
Barbara

My horse is a beautiful living sculpture

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:34 pm 

I'll just write some things that come to my mind when reading the description of your piaffe aids: