The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:43 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Transitioning from PNH
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:01 pm 

Hi guys. I'm completely new to this. I wondered if you have suggestions for me to transition from PNH using neg reinforcement to AND and pos reinforcment.

We are doing L3 PNH. My mare follows me w/t/c at liberty and we do spend undemanding time together. i taught her spanish walk, but she does not do it silently at all! She is built for collection and balances naturally in most cases. I only quit using a bit a short time ago, but she goes the same in a rope halter and we have been riding with a neck rope or nothing ever since I first crawled on her.

Any input would be warmly welcomed!

thanks for having me,

Danee

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:54 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Danee!

First of all; brave of you to jump the gap between Parelli and Natural Haute Ecole! :D

I've done L1 and 2 with Blacky about a year ago in order to be able to write an article about it for the horse magazine I work for, and I was quite impressed by the thoroughness of the program. And I do like the idea of the Seven games, because all in all they are nothing more or less than the basics every horse needs to know to be safe to be around.

However (as you can guess ;) ) I didn't like the fase-system. It worked really fast during the teaching of the games, but Blacky didn't like it at all, so I decided not to go above fase 2 anymore and combine that with foodrewards (as we had been clickertraining for years already. That worked even better. ;)