The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Thu May 16, 2024 8:04 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:57 am 

Hi everyone,
Ok, I'm relatively new to dressage after coming back to riding after quite a long time off. I'm also new to the ideas of classical vs modern. I've bought Gerd Heuschmann's book and to be honest its far too advanced for me at this time and hopefully I can come back to it at a later date.
I then bought Twisted Truths of Modern Dressage which I found better but I think my brain just struggles to take in information from a book!

Can anyone explain or recommend anything (book, article, dvd etc.) that is very simple and breaks down what we as classical dressage riders are trying to achieve and what we're not - basically a what's 'right' and what's not when you are watching riders. I really stuggle to know what I'm looking at when someone says that it's not correct or classical.

Help please?! Thanks!

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:43 pm 

hello,
welcome, I hope you will introduce yourself further, I'm looking forward to knowing more about you and your path with horses, but I will try to answer your question already.

well, that is a difficult question, for me I can say that I believe the differences are:
-the time I try to take to train, I do not want my horse 'ready' at 4 years for competition, I only started to really ride him at six and aim at an age of about 14 for him te be at his so called 'top' (but I do not know what the top will be yet); but I know most modern dressage horses are old and done with at 14 or 16 years, I want Beau to become 30 years old without major problems!