The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 5:11 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Treats
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:10 am 

I am new to AND and am wondering how do you keep your horses from getting nippy and pushy and always looking for treats when you feed them so many? Is that all they learn to work for? Food?
Hilary

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:25 am 

Hey Hilary:

There's been lots of thought and discussion about this in various places on the forum, but here's one spot you could get started towards some answers:

Introducing Food Rewards
http://www.artofnaturaldressage.com/viewtopic.php?t=932

Best,
Leigh

Post subject: Re: Treats
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:57 am 

hdpermann wrote:
I am new to AND and am wondering how do you keep your horses from getting nippy and pushy and always looking for treats when you feed them so many? Is that all they learn to work for? Food?
Hilary

Hello Hilary, and welcome.

Two things to do. One avoids the creation of 'mugging,' and the other is the correction for mugging.

Study top clicker trainers. One of the first things they teach their new pupil (horse) is to not ask for treats with their nose.

In fact, they train the horse to move their nose away from the hand, and only then do they get the treat.

That's the 'correction.'

The other thing is to not train in a way that the horse expects treats for every incident of giving the requested behavior.

Not only does it reduce the chance a horse will go to mugging, but it is far more powerful in getting higher rates and intensity of behaviors.

It's called, "intermittent reinforcement."

At the very first, when a horse is moving toward the behavior you wish (this is called 'shaping') yes, treat, and when he or she completes the wanted behavior the first time or three, yes, treat and treat heavily.