The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:10 am

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Hackamore Fitting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:47 pm 

Please tell me if this needs further adjustment before I add sheepskin. There is felt under the nose pad. Also I want to add more keepers so the adjustment straps stay in place.

Please also any other comments about this "bitless arrangement" in case I am missing something hurtful or harmful or just plain unpleasant. Freckles will be grateful, and so will I.

Words that soak into your ears are whispered...not yelled. Anon

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:25 pm 
Site Admin

I think that it's in the right height, and that the straps are fitted well too, but I'm not really an expert in hackamores. I do know however that due to the lever-action of the metal bars, it's quite a harsh bridle because it squeezes the nose and jaw together in a kind of nutcracker-action. Other bitless bridles like those of DR Cook do squeeze the horses' head too, but as there is no leverage, you won't give the same effect as the hackamore that easily.

I can't see it very well, but it also seems like the metal bars are quite long in your bridle, and longer bars place more pressure on the nose than smaller bars, when you squeeze the reins the same amount. Do you think you need the nutcracker-effect with her? Because most horses, when being trained in a safe, fenced off area have no trouble at all being ridden with a regular stable halter. Maybe it's an option to try that first?

I love the orange ears by the way, as if they were dipped in paint! :lol:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:43 pm 
Site Admin