Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:34 am

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Pee Wee Bit?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:34 pm 

http://www.newhorsebits.com/advantages-of-peewee.php

http://www.macsequine.com.au/Main.asp?_=Pee%20Wee%20Bit

Has anyone heard of this bit?
I don't like using bits, but I don't own a horse, and whenever I ride at local stables they always require a bit for insurance reasons.
Is this a better alternative to snaffles or curbs?
I think that is I bought my own (humane) bit they would probably let me use it instead of their western curbs or snaffles.

-Anna

Post subject: Re: Pee Wee Bit?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:09 pm 

I'm by no means an expert on this... but in looking at the bit I don't see how it would but any less preassure on the bars (like they claim, although their focus seems to be the tongue) than a normal or curved snaffle. It also seems to me like the ridgidity of the mouthpiece would become uncomfortable quickly (imagine trying to chew with something straight Vs. jointed in you mouth). Atleast that's my opinion. I don't know that there's any bit that truly relieves tongue and bar preassure completely just due to what it does and the fact that it's in their mouth. I will say we used a Myler bit (google them) on D for many years after giving up the traditional ones.

Snaffles I would say are much better than curbs since they can't apply the double whammy of tongue,bar AND chin preassure.

It stinks that the barn has those rules, but... atleast you're trying to do something to make them more comfortable when you ride and that's a good thing. :) I love bitless as well.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:23 am 
Site Admin

"The Pee Wee Horse Bit is designed to give you maximum control while being gentle and acceptable to the horse."