The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:09 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2015 9:20 pm 

Hello,

My wife and I have been riding on our own since 2008. We plunged into the world of horses by accident but quickly realized that the horse world is full of unscrupulous people who are after your money. Worse more, many people who have been around a horse all their lives have been doing this the wrong way. By this I mean horsemanship, riding etc.

We are self taught.

We are meticulous by nature and pay attention to things. I don't just jump on my horse and ride without thinking about my posture, my seat, where all my extremities are. After years of traditional Japanese martial arts, I have learned a thing or two about muscle/tendon/joint/skeletal connections. I do not pretend to understand it all or know it all but I am aware of it at least. Throw the horse into the mix and things get even more complicated.

Being meticulous, we are also obsessed with perfection.

Enter dressage. We discovered it some time ago. Problem is, we cannot figure out how to enter into its world. We distrust people (esp. "horse people") so whoever we find has to be good. However, the "good ones" do not seem to be interested in people like us - they think we should get to some level before we could be allowed to throw our money at them ;). We don't have exposure to multiple horses, only our own - that's a major problem we are aware of.

However, the conundrum is: a) how do you get PROPER exposure to multiple horses (who have been trained PROPERLY) and b) how do you get lessons from the PROPER people? We do not want to go to some "backyard looneytoon" or anyone who will teach us wrong so that a year later we need to unlearn everything we were taught.