The Art of Natural Dressage

Working with the Horse's Initiative
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:53 am

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: 2: Jambette
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:01 pm 

Hi, Since I'm new to all this stuff I thought it may be a good idea to start with something 'simple'like he Jambette.

How do you learn your horse to do that?
(your horse has to straighten a leg forward right?)

another question: Do you guys use clickers/food or a voicereward or something to teach your horse the exercises?

thank you for reading!

Greetz Jasmijn

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:57 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Jasmijn,

I think there are at least three ways:

1. Touching the horse's leg with a stick or with your hand
2. Letting her target something with her leg
3. Mimicry (showing her the movement by doing it yourself)

Personally I prefer mimicry, but you have to see what works best for the two of you.

In each case the most important thing is to reward the slightest try. Even if she only shifts her weight to the other leg in the beginning or moves her hoof a little bit. Soon she will begin to offer more.

Concerning your question about the reward: I think that I can say that everybody here uses rewards. Some people "only" use scratches or nice words, but many people also use food rewards. We have a lot of clickertrainers here. What you use as a reward depends, besides other facts, on what Keri likes.

So there are lots of things to experiment on. 8) Have fun!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:09 pm 

Hi,

Thank you for your answer!
I think i'll try to touch her leg with a whip and then do de mimickry. So that later on she'll know what to do.
With the reward, i'm just gonna try what works best, i'll let you know how it goes :P .

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:45 pm